Home > IdeaLab, journal register company, JRC, qr, qr codes, quick response > How to marry print, web with Quick Response codes

How to marry print, web with Quick Response codes

Today’s print version of the Freeman has a new feature, which is building upon Wednesday’s Quick Response code on the front page.

First, a re-cap. The front page’s QR code allows you to ‘Like’ the Freeman on Facebook with your smartphone. So far I’ve heard a lot of buzz about it, but we haven’t gotten many ‘Likes’ through it – yet. (I’m also pushing social media elsewhere, so our recent increase in ‘Likes’ has been partially due to that effort).

In today’s Life section, left, accompanying a food story about Aroma Thyme Bistro in Ellenville, there is a QR box (which in this section is replacing the On The Web box). This code, I believe, enhances print by allowing smartphone users to seamlessly watch a video related to the story right on their phones.

Let me demonstrate.

  1. Tom Caprood
    November 17, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    Ivan, Does this only work with YouTube videos rather than VMIX? Is it just linking to the YouTube URL or using some sort of plugin?

  2. November 17, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    If you want it to work with Droids, iPhones, Blackberries and Nokias, you have to use YouTube. Only Droids work with VMix, because it's flash-based even though the videos are MP4s. And, as you know, Apple LOVES Adobe.I figured once HTML5 comes out, this will be addressed. I just didn't want to wait.I'm uploading to both Vmix and Youtube, btw. (That way I can keep track of what comes from where).It's so much easier to upload with it. (I also use Youtube to convert submitted files I can't open, instead of trying to find the right codec. Then I use Keepvid.com to dowload the file back in the format I choose).P.S. I'm using http://zxing.appspot.com/generator/Open source rules.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

