Home > Uncategorized > A flag in Rhinecliff

A flag in Rhinecliff

I’m half hesitant to post this because I know how strongly people feel about this and I haven’t had the chance to talk to people at The Rhinecliff. But this post can also be the start of a good and needed conversation.

A reader thought this was important enough to send it.
The e-mail read:

I take great offense to this and thought I’d forward.
The Rhinecliff Hotel last night for a WRWD country music event.
An apology is in order.


My two cents:
I think the flag as a promotional symbol is highly inappropriate, as it invokes images of slavery and can be interpreted to suggest that such past should be celebrated. I also think the Rhinecliff did not have that in mind when it decided to put a Confederate flag next to its name, because the flag also pertains to a certain Southern heritage (the event related to country music).

Moreover, the restaurant and hotel has the right to do whatever it wants, as it is a private business.

At the end, to me, it looks like it was just a bad move.Yet, I have to re-state that I haven’t spoken with hotel representatives.

What do you think? (be nice)

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. August 24, 2009 at 11:58 pm

    I think it would be like having German music one night and displaying the flag of the Third Reich.As a Jew, I still like much about Germany and its culture, and as an American who lived in the south for a decade, there is much I like about southern culture. Why use a symbol of what we should all not like to promote something good?

  2. September 1, 2009 at 1:31 am

    Should we not display the British flag either? You do not understandthe fact that many from the South Honor the service of its veterans, to us from the south the war was about states rights. The founders of the Constitution realized slavery was going to be an issue and delayed action until they thought the Union could survive the conflict though they believed it would be settled by the Courts. Bet you think the Pilgrims were starving also, read a book once in awhile.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

